Inspections Department

The Pamlico County Inspections Department exists to protect the life, safety and welfare of its citizens by administering and enforcing the North Carolina Building Code for the incorporated and unincorporated areas of the County.

The Inspections staff provides building inspections and permitting services for all the areas of Pamlico County. The inspections staff reviews development applications for compliance with the County's subdivision regulations, mobile home park ordinance, and the County's CAMA land use plan, and issues appropriate permits within their authority. The Subdivision Administrator provides support to the Planning Board and offers recommendations regarding development applications to the Board of Commissioners.

Ordinances and Plans

The Inspections staff are responsible for issuing permits and completing building, electrical, mechanical, and plumbing inspections in accordance with the NC Building Code. Inspections staff are also responsible for local administration of CAMA, the Community Rating System (CRS), and FEMA regulations. Inspections staff perform inspections of all public schools twice per year.



Planning Board Minutes


Planning Board Members                        

  • Skip Lee - Chairman, At Large
  • Denard Potter - Township 1
  • Julie Rahm - Township 2
  • Maurice Benton - Township 3
  • Carl Ollison - Township 4
  • Mark Lee - Township 5
  • Kari Forrest - At Large

Contact Information

Ray Bennett
Michael Sawyer
Kate Hankins
Administrative Assistant
Office: (252) 745-3861
Fax: (252) 745-7067
Office Hours:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday
Office Location:
Pamlico County Courthouse
202 Main Street
1st Floor
Mailing Address:
Pamlico County - Inspections Dept.
PO Box 776
Bayboro, NC 28515